Under-15 CSL Div 1

6th November 2022 at Ballyadam Park

Carrigtwohill United – 3

Midleton A – 3

Carrigtwohill United Under-15’s got back to action this Saturday afternoon following postponements the previous two weeks due to adverse weather and playing conditions. The schoolboys pitch in Ballyadam was immaculately groomed though a little soft in places and the slick surface would make for an exciting and entertaining local derby v Midleton A.

The home side started well and took the lead on 13 minutes when Rian Thornhill took a Niall Barry pass on his chest, swivelled, and volleyed it into the net from the edge of the box.

Midleton responded within minutes, their striker finishing well from a crossfield pass. Carrigtwohill would have the better of the remainder of the half and led again when captain Sean Og Madden nodded home a Thornhill corner just before the break.

Midleton started the second half with greater urgency and some neat passing football was rewarded with two quick fire goals as they first equalised and then went ahead within 10 minutes of the restart. This Carrigtwohill side are not known for lying down and went about their business seeking an equaliser of their own and it duly came with 8 minutes remaining. Substitute Rayhan Soumaila picked up the ball out on the left wing and dinked and weaved his way through four or five Midleton defenders before slamming his shot past the Midleton keeper, what a goooooaaaaal!

The home side could have won it late on only for a fine double save from the visitors net minder, firstly parrying Maddens effort from distance and then smothering Thornhills follow up.

On reflection both sides were probably happy with the point and the quality of goals from both were top notch on the day. Best for United were Rian Thornhill, Cillian Rooney and Rayhan Soumaila but Sean Og Madden takes man of the match for a fantastic performance, well done all.

Team: Adam Lee, Niall Barry, Evan O Regan O Connor, Cillian Rooney, Dominik Juric, Noah Nsengiyumva, Sean Og Madden(c), Osas Aghedo, Rian Thornhill, Roan O Keeffe, James Lambe, Noah Eddins, Rayhan Soumaila, Morgan Foley and Cathal Seymour.