Under-15 CSL Div 1

15th October 2022 at Beaumount Park

Avondale United – 1

Carrigtwohill United – 1

Carrigtwohill United U15s were on the road as they travelled to Beaumont Park to face Avondale United on Saturday evening. The visitors started well and dominated possession, creating a few half chances, and having a number of efforts from distance dealt with by the Avondale defence before Noah Eddins gave them the lead on 26 minutes.

The move had begun on the opposite flank when Kyle Kidney was released by Tom Walsh, Kidney beat his man and then cut back onto his left foot to fire an effort across the goal heading for the bottom corner. The Avondale goalkeeper produced a fine save but only parried the ball into the path of the arriving Eddins who buried it into the roof of the net for 1 nil.

If Carrigtwohill had the better of the 1st half then it would be the home sides turn in the 2nd half as Avondale continued to put the pressure on the Carrigtwohill defence, Jarlath Cullimore was doing his best to hold things together at the back and get his team up the pitch at every opportunity and when Roan O Keeffe won a free kick on the edge of the Avondale penalty area Cullimore stepped up to have a go. The centre back struck his effort well but just couldn’t keep it under the crossbar. This was the closest Carrigtwohill would come to scoring in the 2nd half as Avondale probed for an equaliser and after conceding a free kick on the right the visitors then failed to defend it and would pay the price as the home side scored from the next phase of play with 3 minutes remaining.

Although Carrigtwohill will look at it as 2 points dropped, you’d have to ask if they did enough to win the game…….probably not and the draw was a fair reflection. A point away from home keeps the boys on top of the table in what is shaping up to be a very tight division.

Best on the day were Tom Walsh, Kyle Kidney and Roan O Keeffe but man of the match goes to top defender Jarlath Cullimore, well done all.

Team: Adam Lee, Niall Barry, Evan O Regan O Connor, Jarlath Cullimore, Cathal Seymour, Noah Nsengiyumva, Kyle Kidney, Tom Walsh, Rian Thornhill(c), Roan O Keeffe, Noah Eddins, Cillian Rooney, James Lambe, Dominik Juric, Osas Aghedo, Morgan Foley, Rayhan Soumaila and Sean Og Madden.