Under-15 CSL Div 1

24th September 2022 at Ballyadam

Carrigtwohill United – 6

Corinthian Boys A – 0

Carrigtwohill United were looking to bounce back from an unlucky defeat away to Blarney United last week and would not disappoint when Corinthian Boys A came to Ballyadam on Saturday for a lunchtime kick off.

Rian Thornhill opened the scoring on 7 minutes with a brave finish after being put through by Tom Walsh. The home side sat back after scoring and invited pressure from the Douglas outfit but on 22 minutes Roan O’Keeffe won a penalty to awaken United from their slumber.

Morgan Foley would brought a good save from the Cors keeper from the spot but from the resulting corner swung in by Thornhill the goalkeeper would drop the ball into his own net. A couple of minutes later Thornhill played a ball into space and Foley beat Sean Og Madden to tuck it away for Carrigs 3rd.

The home side were enjoying themselves now and on the stroke of halftime following some trickery by Madden & Thornhill around the opposition penalty box O’Keeffe found himself in space to hit the net from 10 yards.

The domination continued in the second half and Kyle Kidney was on the end of a Jarlath Cullimore free kick to turn in a well-deserved goal from close range. Midway through the half Cullimore would round off the scoring with a direct free kick from distance, cue the celebrations!

A terrific team performance all round best of which came from Walsh, Rooney and Thornhill.

Man of the match goes to Roan O’Keeffe who had an excellent game in midfield despite the close attention of the Corinthian players and won numerous free kicks, a penalty and chipped in with a goal as well.

Carrigtwohill United: Adam Lee, Cillian Rooney, Evan O Regan O Connor, Jarlath Cullimore, Cathal Seymour, Morgan Foley, Kyle Kidney, Tom Walsh, Rian Thornhill, Roan O Keeffe, Sean Og Madden, Noah Nsengiyumva, Osas Aghedo, Noah Eddins, Rayhan Soumaila, James Lambe and Dominik Juric.

Carrigtwohill Scores: Rian Thornhill, Own Goal, Morgan Foley, Roan O Keeffe, Kyle Kidney and Jarlath Cullimore.

Player of the Match: Roan O’Keeffe